Joan Haines

Duties of the County Collector

About Your Taxes

 

Pay Taxes Online

 Pay Online  
*2.5% processing fee applies
to on-line payments.
*Receipts take up to 7 days to receive.
*We do NOT accept E-checks.
 

Cedar County Collector of Revenue

Joan Haines

 

What are the Duties of the County Collector?

The Cedar County Collector of Revenue is an elected official responsible for collecting current and delinquent property taxes for political subdivisions within the county.  These are state approved property tax levies.  The Collector is bonded.  We strive to serve the taxpayers of Cedar County with friendly service and updated technology.

The Collector is Responsible for:

  • Collecting and distributing railroad and utilities, real estate, and personal property taxes.
  • Bankruptcy Payments
  • Pre-pay Payments
  • Mailing of Real Estate and Personal Property Tax Statements
  • Mortgage Company Payments
  • Issuing Merchants Licenses
  • Conducting delinquent land tax sale the fourth Monday of August each year
  • Issuing certificate of purchase, tax sale redemption and tax sale issues.

 

About Your Taxes

Real Estate and Personal Property taxes are levied annually and the statements are mailed out in November.  Tax Payments are due by December 31st of each year, if paying by mail the postmark determines the month paid.  Payments postmarked received after December 31st must include penalty and interest charges.  If a tax bill is not received by December 1st, please contact the collector's office at 417.276.6700 Ext. 224.  Failure to receive a tax bill does not relieve the obligation to pay taxes and applicable late fees.  If you are paying taxes after December 31st, please refer to the delinquent payment chart on the right side of the statement.

Real Estate Taxes:

The tax liability on real estate remains with the property.

Personal Property Taxes:

Taxes are assessed as of January 1st.  Taxes are due for the entire year regardless if the property is no longer owned or has been moved from Cedar County.  State law requires that personal property taxes be paid before license plates on a vehicle can be issued or renewed.  The Department of Revenue, License Bureau accepts a paid tax receipt to verify that taxes have been paid.

Contact

Cedar County Collector

Joan Haines

PO Box 280

113 South Street

Stockton, MO 65785

Tel: 417.276.6700 ext. 225

Fax: 417.276.4658

Located on Courthouse Main Floor Rm.#1

Staff

Marla Uptegrove, Deputy Collector

 

Office Hours

8:00am to 4:00pm
Monday - Friday
(Closed most state and federal holidays)
*Watch for extended hours during November and December

 

 

Need a property assessment or an assessment waiver?

Contact the

Cedar County Assessor

 

Need a copy of a deed?

Contact the

Cedar County Recorder's Office

 

Taxes are due December 31st each year

 

Drivers License and Date of Birth on ALL CHECKS.   2015 and older bills

must be cashiers check or money order or cash NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED ON 2 year old taxes.

 

Missouri law dictates that any "delinquent" real estate and personal property taxes owed, from previous years, must be paid first before the "current" taxes may be paid.

Copyright © Cedar County Missouri | All Rights Reserved.